Tax Laws

IRS adopts Taxpayer Bill of Rights


hanks to the efforts of the “national taxpayer advocate,” Nina E. Olson, the Internal Revenue Service recently adopted a “Taxpayer Bill of Rights.” If you have received an audit notice or fear that you might, it’s important to know how your rights protect you.

Under the Taxpayer Bill of Rights, you have the right to:

1. Be Informed

2. Quality Service

3. Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax

4. Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard

5. Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum

6. Finality

7. Privacy

8. Confidentiality

9. Retain Representation

10. A Fair and Just Tax System

All too often when individuals are audited they automatically think that their rights have been stripped and there is nothing that they can do to protect themselves when facing audits, collections or fraud accusations.

But as the Taxpayer Bill of Rights shows, the IRS is required to respect each one of the privileges. The rights are not new, but the commissioner of the IRS said that it was time “to highlight and showcase these rights for people to plainly see.”

One of the most important rights is No. 9, the Right to Retain Representation. Even with the Taxpayer Bill of Rights, going up against the IRS can still feel like a losing battle.

That’s why many Americans opt to retain and experienced tax attorney to stand up to the IRS on their behalf.

Whether you are facing accusations of tax fraud or tax evasion, or are facing an audit or tax investigation, an experienced tax lawyer can make sure that your rights are protected.

Related posts

Recently passed bills affects many U.S. taxpayers

Timothy Hart

3 tax complications to keep an eye on this year

Timothy Hart

Items potentially increasing your tax bill

Timothy Hart